Super Awesome Barbie Houses!

Standard

I don’t know about your girls, but mine love Barbie!  And man, do they have a lot of Barbie paraphernalia!!  A while back I organized it all into containers by type of Barbie stuff…doctor set, clothes, shoes, etc.  But it still kept ending up in a jumbled mess on the floor!!!  I couldn’t take it much longer!  I understood they wanted to play with many different categories of Barbie stuff at once, but MY OH MY the mess!!

My girls also swoon over the doll houses at Hobby Lobby.  Very expensive dollhouses!  So, a Christmas gift idea was forming…  Let me tell you, my husband loves when I come up with these ideas…no, no, not really!  But he is always a good sport and willing to give it a go!  Thank goodness!!

So, he found plans for a Barbie house, built it, painted it, and walah!!  My husband, sister, and I spent an afternoon decorating the houses.  Oh yeah, did I mention he made two?!  My grand idea was to have two so we could close them together and hide keep all the Barbie stuff in the house.  (Which has worked out wonderfully by the way!)

We used scrapbook paper, fleece, felt, ribbon, and lots of glue to decorate the walls and floors.  (I am embarrassed to admit I had enough pink scrapbook paper in my stash to decorate all the rooms without buying more!  Yikes!)  We were covered in glue by the time we were done, but it was so fun!  I mean really, when else would you get to decorate 12 rooms in pink and sparkle!!

I have to tell you…I was planning on making all the furniture and linens homemade, buuutttt…December snuck up on me!  We had quite a bit of furniture already and then Target had an awesome sale on a 4-pack of room furniture which made it super cheap…so, we cheated!

My sister and I stayed up super late Christmas Eve and arranged all the rooms.  We had a ton of fun arranging everything, so we knew the girls would love it!  Christmas morning the big reveal!  They loved them!  The Barbie houses live in our living room *gasp*, but we enjoy watching the girls play with them!

So, if you are up for a bit of a challenge and hours of fun for your girls…be inspired to make a Barbie house!  (Online I saw tons of great ideas using cardboard boxes to make a house as well.)

*To find the free Barbie house plans go here – they were fantastic!  (By the way–these are big!  Each one is about 49.5 inches tall and 34 inches wide!)  We did opt to leave out the stairs just to give more room.

*A word to the wise–when you start gluing paper to the walls & floor…I thought just your normal crafting spray adhesive would work, but I was WRONG!!!  We switched and started using 3M automotive spray adhesive after two rooms.  It worked awesome!  (We have had to re-glue the two rooms we used ordinary craft spray adhesive on.)  We used my favorite fabric glue for the fabrics and ribbon — fabri-tac by beacon adhesives– it is quick dry—works wonderfully for rosettes!! ;)

*I plan on the girls and I working on more decorations, etc. as time goes on…

Jaimi

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

